Smile Politely

YWCA announces 2015 Leadership Award winners

Earlier this week the YWCA announced the following winners of the 2015 Leadership Awards:

  • Advocacy: Claudia Lennhoff, Champaign County Health Care Consumers
  • Education: Rebecca Ginsburg, Education Justice Project
  • Social Justice: Nicole Cooke, UI Graduate School of Library and Information Sciences
  • Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics: Brenda Wilson, UI Microbiology
  • Trailblazer: Naomi Jakobsson, Illinois State Representative, retired

Awardees will be honored at the Women’s Achievement Celebration, over dinner from 6:30 to 8:00 pm, on April 23, 2015 at the I Hotel and Conference Center in Champaign. Registration information and tickets to the event can be found here.

Here’s more info about the YWCA:

The YWCA is dedicated to eliminating racism, empowering women and promoting peace, justice, freedom and dignity for all. Throughout our history, the YWCA has been in the forefront of most major social justice movements in the United States as a pioneer in race relations, labor union representation, and the empowerment of women.

Related Articles