Smile Politely

League of Women Voters has two candidate forums coming up

The primaries will be upon us awfully soon; here are a couple of opportunities to get to know some of the candidates that will be on your ballots.

Circuit Clerk, 6th Circuit Judge, County Board 8

January 30th, 6:30 to 9:30 p.m., Champaign City Building

Moderator: Trisha Crowley/Peggy LaFrance
7 to 7:30 Circuit Clerk: Robert Burkhalter; Susan McGrath
7:35 to 8:20 Champaign County Circuit Judge: Troy Lozar; David Moore; Ramona Sullivan; Ruth Wyman
8:25 to 8:55 County Board 8: Emily Rodriguez; Giraldo Rosales

IL-13, County Board 6, 9, and 10

February 10th, 6:30 to 9:45 p.m., Champaign City Building

Moderator: Peggy LaFrance
(IL-13 is still Pending Candidate Confirmation)
7:00 to 7:45 U.S. House of Representatives – IL-13: Betsy Dirksen Londrigan; Stefanie Smith
7:50 to 8:20 County Board 6: DeShawn Williams; Charles Young
8:25 to 8:55 County Board 10: Mary King; Connie Dillard-Myers
9 to 9:30 County Board 9: Cynthia Fears; Jennifer Straub

If you have questions for the candidates, you can submit them by emailing 

Top image: A row of three voting booths. The first two have an American Flag and the word “Vote” in blue letters on the side. The third has a stovepipe hat with an America flag pattern and the word “Vote” in red letters. 

Staff writer

Related Articles