Smile Politely

Illinois Public Media won four national public media journalism awards

Illinois Public Media was honored with four Public Media Journalism Association awards for their reporting in 2020. From the press release:

The PMJA has honored Illinois Public Media with first place in the “Nationally Edited Feature” category for reporting on the University of Illinois’ former mascot, Chief Illiniwek; second place in the “Division B Spot News” category for reporting on the Champaign-Urbana community’s response to the killing of George Floyd in 2020; second place in the “Division B Feature” category for reporting on gender disparities in agriculture; and first place in the “Student Spot News” category for student coverage of the Black Lives Matter movement.

Illinois Newsroom Agricultural Reporter Dana Cronin, former Illinois Newsroom Education Reporter Lee V. Gaines, and student reporter Farrah Anderson were the journalists behind the winning coverage.

Top photo by Lee V. Gaines from Illinois Newsroom. 

Staff writer

Related Articles