Smile Politely

Tweedy Delivers the Goods


Jeff Tweedy made his triumphant return to Foellinger Auditorium on Saturday night, and he didn’t disappoint. Playing solo with only an acoustic guitar (of the six he had to choose from on stage) to accompany him, Tweedy commanded the room from start to finish. With his family in attendance, he played a heartfelt, intimate collection of songs spanning the breadth of his career, from a couple of Uncle Tupelo favorites (“Wait Up” and “Acuff/Rose”) to a couple of brand-new tracks. After the jump, the full set list and a bunch more photos.

Photos by Cody Bralts

Set List (courtesy of WilcoBase)

1. One By One
2. I’m Always In Love
3. I Am Trying To Break Your Heart
4. Muzzle Of Bees
5. Bob Dylan’s 49th Beard
6. Radio King
7. Wait Up
8. Hummingbird
9. Jesus, Etc.
10. new song (Everlasting Everything)
11. Airline To Heaven
12. Wilco The Song
13. Henry & The H Bombs
14. The Ruling Class
15. Spiders (Kidsmoke)

Encore 1:
16. Remember The Mountain Bed
17. Fake Plastic Trees
18. I’m The Man Who Loves You

Encore 2:
19. A Shot In The Arm
20. Someone Else’s Song (without PA)
21. Acuff-Rose (without PA)

Tweedy acknowledges the crowd.

The front row of rapturous onlookers.

The man in black.

Opening act Great Lakes Swimmers‘ Tony Dekker.

Great Lakes Swimmers’ set list.

Who needs a PA?

Name me a song / that everybody knows

Related Articles