Smile Politely

The Rekkid Store Report — June 11, 2009


This week Parasol is expecting high demand for hyped releases like Sonic Youth’s new indie-again opus and Deerhunter’s EP; new full-length offerings from Quest for Fire, Chocolat, The Dirty Projectors, Illinois and Joan of Arc. Add to that the nationwide release of the debut from Chicago psych-folk troupe The Horse’s Ha on our own Hidden Agenda imprint, Slumberland Rec’s new signing Liechtenstein, Kill Rock Stars’ intriguing Portland Cello Project and the debut from Stardeath & White Dwarf (featuring Wayne Coyne’s nephew and yes it’s Flaming Lipsy). Let’s not forget a drool-worthy second round of Loop deluxe re-issues!

Wax On:

On the vinyl front we’re looking at Swedish noise-pop darlings Love Is All’s covers EP on 12″ and a 9″ record from Bad Secrets; LPs from Headdress, Gable and Tape; a vinyl-only long-form doozy from CHGO riffmeisters Pelican; plus Magnetic Fields 69 Love Songs on six 10″ vinyl records! Along with a bunch of waycool, way limited 45 and vinyl-only mysterioso from obscure/hot little labels that only Roy knows about.

Rocking Our World:

Well, Mott the Hoople, duh, but also the latest album from San Fran’s best psych band Assemble Head In Sunburst Sound, whose When Sweet Sleep Returned could be the best throwback psych album of the year. Friendlier and more peaceful-eyed than Austin’s Black Angels, more expansive and retro-fit than Frisco brethren Wooden Shjips, with just a touch of Crystal Antlers ferocity (more ferocious on Assemble Head’s previous album, Ekranoplan).

The Top Tenner:

1. Coral Sea, The “Firelight” (Red Clover)
2. Bats, The “The Guilty Office” (A Hidden Agenda Record)
3. Akron/Family “Set ‘Em Wild, Set ‘Em Free” (Dead Oceans)
4. Those Bastard Souls “Twentieth Century Chemical (+6 bonus tracks)” (Darla)
5. Acid Mothers Temple “Interstellar Guru & Zero” (Homeopathic)
6. Magik Markers “Balf Quarry” (Drag City/Twos & Fews)
7. Rodriguez “Coming From Reality” (Light In The Attic)
8. Real Estate “Fake Blues” (Woodsist)
9. Psychedelic Horseshit “Magic Flowers Droned” (Siltbreeze)
10. Vile, Kurt & The Violators “The Hunchback” (Richie Records/Testostertunes)

Related Articles