Smile Politely

The Rekkid Store Report — July 7, 2009

Soooo…tell me about your new releases:

This week is a bit on the slow side in terms of new releases; of course, that doesn’t mean there isn’t stuff worth checking out at Exile on Main St. First up is another installment in the Live from Austin TX series which takes tracks from the popular show “Austin City Limits” and makes them commercially available along with tracks not originally aired on TV. The newest volume is actually CD/DVD combo release from the Drive-By Truckers recorded in 2008. If you’ve ever been lucky enough to catch one of their gigs, you know their live shows are about as good as it gets. Other notable new albums this week from The Minus Five, Akron/Family, Cage, Maxwell, The Donnas, Against Me, and Death By Stereo among others…

Who doesn’t love a good compilation:

Music from the North Country is the first ever compilation from Minneapolis’ finest Americana group, The Jayhawks. The multi-disc version contains not only 20 songs from their six albums, but also a second disc of unreleased material as well as a DVD with all their videos. Always underappreciated, this collection is a must for new and old fans alike. Fat Possum now is the home of the recordings of Townes Van Zandt, and this week they release a brand new tribute album entitled “Poet” featuring great artists like Willie Nelson, Lucinda Williams, John Prine and the Cowboy Junkies just to name a few. Strut Records is one of our favorite labels of the moment, and this week they once again do the digging for us with the second volume of Black Rio Soul.

Obscure artists with Latin, African and American funk influences to keep our (and your) head bobbing. This week also sees it’s first J.Dilla release of the month. The late producer can’t seem to go a couple weeks without something coming out, but that’s fine by us. The latest is the second volume of Dillanthology, which compiles some of his remixes for such heavyweights as De La Soul, Four Tet, The Pharcyde and of course, Slum Village. We still can’t believe he’s gone…sigh. Last but certainly not least come in and check out the 3 disc box set This is Psychobilly: 25 Years of Rockin’ & Wreckin. We haven’t listened to it yet, but hell…you know it’s good!

What the hell were they listening to anyway?

Jeff: Mos Def – The Ecstatic, Blk Jks – Blk Jks

Mike: Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit – S/T, Sarah Borges and the Broken Singles – The Stars Are Out

Jordan: Cymbals Eat Guitars – Why Are There Mountains?, Fucked Up – Chemistry of Common Life

Tim: Sunn O))) – Monoliths and Dimensions, Omar Souleyman – Dabke 2020

Adam: Regina Spektor – Far, Levon Helm – Electric Dirt

Top 10 albums according to our fine customers:

  1. Wilco – Wilco (The Album)
  2. Deerhunter – Rainwater Cassette Exchange
  3. Dinosaur Jr. – Farm
  4. The Mars Volta – Octahedron
  5. Tortoise – Beacons of Ancestorship
  6. Regina Spektor – Far
  7. Grizzly Bear – Veckatimest
  8. Levon Helm – Electric Dirt
  9. Jason Lytle – Yours Truly, the Commuter
  10. Phoenix – Wolfgang Amedeus Phoenix

Related Articles