Smile Politely

On Princes and Deacons

It has been a good year so far for new music. Sure, there have been some disappointments (Peter, Bjorn and John; The Hold Steady; The Decemberists; U2; Bruce Springsteen). But there have been a greater number of worthy releases from the likes of Super Furry Animals, Camera Obscura, Neko Case, Black Lips, M. Ward, A.C. Newman, Andrew Bird, and Antony and the Johnsons, plus triumphant returns from Morrissey and Charlie Louvin. In this first issue of Jukebox Upchuck, a new podcast column that will share the music, we’ll listen to songs from several such releases that have caught my ear. Bear with me as I work out some technological quirks that will improve the quality.

1) Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavilion
2) Dan Deacon – Bromst
3) Bonnie “Prince” Billy – Beware
4) Arthur Russell – Love Is Overtaking Me

5) The Bats – The Guilty Office (drops on June 23)
6) Bricolage – Bricolage
7) Bill Callahan – Sometimes I Wish We Were An Eagle

Shop locally! Each of these releases can be ordered, and in many cases will already be in stock, at Parasol Records (in downtown Urbana) and Exile on Main Street (in downtown Champaign).

Related Articles