“Recycling measure moves forward in Urbana,” News-Gazette, January 11
The city council could require trash haulers in coming weeks to offer recycling services to their commercial customers – and in coming years they could require those customers to participate.
After debating how aggressively to pursue commercial recycling among Urbana businesses, council members settled on a largely voluntary program, which would mandate that haulers make recycling available but not force businesses to accept the service.
“UI library adds new restrictions to address ‘student concerns’,” Daily Illini, January 10
In response to “student concerns” about overnight access, the University library is changing requirements and limiting entry to its various locations at the start of the semester.
. . .
Library users who aren’t faculty, staff or students will be asked to leave at midnight.
“Carle gets $700,000 grant from Defense Department for research on head injuries,” News-Gazette, January 11
Neurosurgeons at Carle have received a $700,000 research contract from the U.S. Department of Defense to study the effect of cooling on head trauma injury and stroke patients in Champaign-Urbana starting in June, Carle officials announced Tuesday morning.
What Carle plans to use in the way of cooling technology goes well beyond a simple ice pack, however.
“UI college combines three departments,” News-Gazette, January 11
The College of Education at the University of Illinois is combining three departments into one – but not to save money.
Dean Mary Kalantzis said the impetus to create the Department of Education Policy, Organization and Leadership came from the faculty, not from a cost-cutting motivation, and “will create synergies for creative collaboration.”
“Quinn signs major Ill. tax increase into law,” Pantagraph, January 13
Gov. Pat Quinn signed legislation Thursday that temporarily raises Illinois income taxes by two-thirds, risking a political backlash against Democrats but gaining money to help drag state government out of the deepest budget hole in its history.
The law raises the personal tax rate to 5 percent, up from 3 percent. That means someone who previously owed the state $1,000 in taxes will now pay $1,666. The tax rate is supposed to drop to 3.75 percent after four years, so that same taxpayer would then owe $1,250.