Smile Politely

Innovation Celebration: Another scene worth celebrating

Our SP crew was present for last night’s Innovation Celebration, an event produced by the Champaign County Economic Development Corporation. The EDC is celebrating year 10 of the event, which took place within the walls of Krannert Center for the Performing Arts. Innovation Celebration recognized individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions and provided leadership within the realm of Champaign County — helping to ensure the success and progress of the community.

Check out the photos from the event below, and congratulations to all of those involved in the event. There’s a lot to celebrate here in Champaign-Urbana.

Craig Rost, Executive Director of the Champaign County Economic Development Corporation

Liz Kellner of Singleton Law Firm

Laura Frerichs, Master of Ceremonies, and Director of the University of Illinois Research Park

Phyllis Wise, Chancellor of the University of Illinois

Adam Tilton of Rithmio

Agrible, Inc.

Here’s the entire list of nominees and winners (in bold):

Entrepreneurial Excellence: Social Venture Award
Neutral Cycle
Scientific Animations Without Borders (SAWBO)

Entrepreneurial Excellence: Student Startup Award
Lumenous Co. 
Rithmio, Inc.

Entrepreneurial Excellence: New Venture Award
Veriflow Systems, Inc.
Agrible, Inc. (Ag Informatics)
EP Purification, Inc.

Entrepreneurial Excellence: Advocacy Award
Deana McDonagh
Jennifer Bechtel
Alex Ruggieri 
Innovation: Economic Development Impact Award
The Product Manufactory, LLC
BRG Sports, Inc.
HL Precision Manufacturing, Inc.
Entrepreneurial Excellence: Management Award
Cathy Singer – Yahoo!, Inc.
David Markun – Artisan Technology Group
Craig Bethke – Aqueous Solutions, LLC 
Innovation: Longevity Award
ShapeMaster, Inc.
Horizon Hobby, LLC
Cozad Asset Management, Inc.
Innovation Transfer Award – University of Illinois
Dr. Ryan Bailey
Dr. Kenneth Suslick
Dr. Brian Cunningham 
Innovation in Engagement Award – Parkland College
Applied Media Promotions (AMP) 
Huge thank you to Carly McCrory and the entire crew who organized Innovation Celebration — it was truly a great event.

Related Articles